Seiko Countdown425d 23h 15m 2s
World Athletics Championships Oregon22

News16 Jul 2013

World champion Murer leads Brazil’s team for Moscow


Fabiana Murer of Brazil competing in the Women's Pole Vault Final which she won (© Getty Images)

Brazil will send 32 athletes to the IAAF World Championships in Moscow, led by reigning World Pole Vault champion Fabiana Murer.

The 32-year-old cleared a season’s best of 4.73m to win the National Championships last month to move to fourth on the 2013 world lists, making her the highest-ranked Brazilian athlete in any event this year.

Brazil will be well represented in the men’s event too, after Augusto Dutra de Oliveira and Thiago Da Silva have both broken the South American Pole Vault record this year. Di Oliveira improved the mark twice with 5.81m in May and 5.82m in June. But his younger team-mate Da Silva, the World junior champion, added 23cm to his lifetime best earlier this month to break Di Oliveira’s record with 5.83m.

The same has happened in the women’s 100m, where Franciela Krasucki broke the South American record with 11.15 in April, only for fellow Brazilian Ana Claudia Silva to improve it in May, first with 11.13, then 11.05. Both athletes will double up in the sprints and will form part of a strong 4x100m squad.

World indoor Long Jump champion Mauro Vinicius da Silva has been in PB form this year, jumping 8.31m at the National Championships to put him at fifth on this year’s world lists.

Carlos Eduardo Chinin is another medal contender, having broken the South American record in the Decathlon this year with 8393.



200m: Aldemir Gomes, Bruno Lins
400m: Anderson Henriques
800m: Kleberson Davide
400m Hurdles: Mahau Suguimati
Pole Vault: Thiago da Silva, Augusto Dutra de Oliveira, Joao Gabriel Santos Souza
Long Jump: Mauro Vinícius da Silva
Triple Jump: Jefferson Sabino
Discus: Ronald Juliao
Decathlon: Carlos Eduardo Chinin
Marathon: Paulo Roberto de Almeida Paula, Solonei Rocha da Silva
20km Race Walk: Caio Bonfim
50km Race Walk: Mario Jose dos Santos Junior
4x400m: Pedro Luiz Burmann, Wagner Francisco Cardoso, Jonathan Henrique da Silva, Hugo Balduíno de Sousa, Henriques.

100m: Franciela Krasucki, Ana Claudia Silva
200m: Krasucki, Silva
400m: Joelma Sousa
Pole Vault: Karla Rosa da Silva, Fabiana Murer
Triple Jump: Keila Costa
Shot Put: Geisa Arcanjo
Discus: Fernanda Borges
Javelin: Jucilene Lima
4x400m: Evelyn Carolina dos Santos, Vanda Gomes, Krasucki, Rosangela Santos, Silva