Another national cross country title for Shalane Flanagan (Kirby Lee) © Copyright
General News Indianapolis, USA

Flanagan leads US team to Bydgoszcz

Olympic 10,000m bronze medallist Shalane Flanagan leads the US squad for the IAAF World Cross Country Championships in Bydgoszcz, Poland on 28 March.

Flanagan will be the key hope for the senior women's squad in search of their first first team medal since 2005 when they won bronze in the women's 4 km. Flanagan, also the US 10,000m record holder and a rising Half Marathon star, is also considered an individual medal contender.
Joining Flanagan will be four-time World Cross Country team member Renee Metivier Baillie, 2008 Olympic Marathoner Magdalena Lewy Boulet, 2009 USA Women's 10 km Champion Molly Huddle, 2009 USA Cross Country Champion Emily Brown, and Amy Hastings, third-place finisher from the USA Cross Country Championships in Spokane.
Leading the U.S. senior men's team will be 2010 USA Cross Country Championships runner-up Patrick Smyth. Smyth will team with three-time U.S. squad member Ryan Vail who represented Team USA  first as a junior in St. Galmier, France in 2005 and returning as the top Team USA senior men's finisher in Amman, Jordan, last year where he finished 33rd.  Joining Smyth and Vail will be two-time USA Cross Country team members Scott Bauhs and Bobby Curtis.  Rounding out the senior men's team will be Ben Bruce and Bobby Mack.
The junior men's team will feature USA Junior Cross Country Champion Tevor Dunbar of Kodiak, Alaska, a freshman at Portland State University who will be joined by Walter Schafer, who finished second in Spokane.  The junior men's team will be rounded out by Andrew Colley of North Carolina State University; Andrew Kimpel, a freshman at Washington State University; Michael Lynch, a freshman at Oklahoma State University; and Ammar Moussa, a junior at Arcadia High School in California.
Team USA's junior women will be led by USA Cross Country champion Shelby Greany.  A Providence College freshman, Greany will team with high school senior Emily Sisson, Juliet Bottorff of Duke University, and Georgetown University freshman Emily Jones.  University of Colorado freshman Laura Tremblay and Duke University freshman Sophia Ziemian complete the Team USA junior women's squad.

Jim Estes (USATF) for the IAAF