New Zealand's Kim Smith leads the senior women's race in the early stages - Amman WXC 2009 (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News Ten athletes have  been pre

Smith heads New Zealand’s first selections for 2010 World Cross Country Champs

Ten athletes have been preselected by Athletics New Zealand for 38th IAAF World Cross Country Championships in Bydgoszcz, Poland which takes place on 28 March 2010.

The selections are: senior women - Kimberley Smith, Fiona Crombie, Kellie Palmer and Sarah Biss; senior men - Andrew Davidson, Edwin Henshaw and Kim Hogarth; junior men - Aaron Pulford; junior women - Danielle Trevis and Olivia Burne.

Hannah Newbould was unavailable for selection in the junior women's squad as she is concentrating on the World Junior Championships on the track.

Apart from Kimberley Smith the runners have been pre-selected based on performances at the New Zealand cross country championships.

Smith performed with distinction at this year's World Cross Country Championships in Amman, Jordan finishing 13th in the senior women, and at the 2005 championships in France she was 12th.

The final composition of the team will be made after a cross country trial to be held in Wellington on 30 January.

Murray McKinnon (Athletics New Zealand) for the IAAF