News05 Apr 2017

London qualification the aim for Australia’s squad for IAAF/BTC World Relays Bahamas 2017


Anneliese Rubie in the 4x400m at the IAAF World Relays (© Getty Images)

Australia’s women’s 4x400m team will line up for the IAAF World Relays Bahamas 2017 on 22-23 April with the aim of earning automatic qualification for the IAAF World Championships London 2017.

The squad announced by Athletics Australia also includes a men’s and women’s 4x800m team to bring the confirmed team size to 15.

Led by Morgan Mitchell, Caitlin Jones and Anneliese Rubie – who all represented Australia in the Olympic 4x400m final last year – the team also includes fellow Olympian Ella Nelson, who will be making her international 4x400m debut. Meanwhile, Olivia Tauro makes her return to an Australian squad for the first time since the 2010 Commonwealth Games.

The men’s 4x800m team boasts Luke Mathews, Joshua Ralph, James Gurr, Mason Cohen and Jordan Williamsz, with the women’s team featuring Lora Storey, Zoe Buckman, Heidi See, Abbey de la Motte and Alicia Kerr.

Australia will also include a men’s 4x100m team if they are added to entry lists via the IAAF invitation process. They will compete at the Mt Sac Relays in the lead-up to the IAAF World Relays to ensure their best possible chance for inclusion.

Australia made it on to the podium in three events at the 2015 IAAF World Relays, crossing the line third in the men’s and women’s 4x800m and the men’s distance medley relay.

Athletics Australia for the IAAF

Australian team for IAAF/BTC World Relays Bahamas 2017

4x100m (pending invitation): Nicholas Andrews, Aaron Bresland, Rohan Browning, Tom Gamble, Alex Hartmann, Trae Williams
4x800m: Mason Cohen, James Gurr, Luke Mathews, Josh Ralph, Jordan Williamsz

4x400m: Caitlin Jones, Morgan Mitchell, Ella Nelson, Anneliese Rubie, Olivia Tauro
4x800m: Zoe Buckman, Abbey de la Motte, Alicia Keir, Heidi See, Lora Storey