Agnes Tirop and Geoffrey Kamworor (Getty Images) © Copyright
News Monaco

World Athlete of the Year 2015 longlist – multi-terrain candidates: Kamworor and Tirop

Geoffrey Kamworor and Agnes Tirop have been voted as the winners of the multi-terrain category, the last of the nine categories, in the first round of voting for the 2015 IAAF World Athlete of the Year award.

The Kenyan pair both were convincing winners at the IAAF World Cross Country Championships Guiyang 2015 on 28 March.

Kamworor won the senior men’s 12km race by eight seconds, crossing the line in the Chinese city in 34:52, while Tirop won the senior women’s gold medal, covering the 8km course in 26:01 and winning by five seconds.

Last month the IAAF Family* was asked to select nine men and nine women from each of the following categories: sprints, hurdles, middle and long distance, road running, race walking, jumps, throws, combined events and multi-terrain.

The longlist will comprise the top-voted athletes in each category. An international panel of 10 experts** will then select the finalists – three men and three women – the names of whom will be announced on 17 and 18 November.


*IAAF Family: IAAF & IAF Council members; IAAF national member federations; IAAF Committee & Commission members; IAAF meeting directors; IAAF athlete ambassadors; athletes’ representatives; top athletes; members of the international press; IAAF staff members and the IAAF’s official partners

**The international panel of athletics experts includes representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF