News03 Sep 2014

Defending champion Lagat leads Americas team for IAAF Continental Cup


Bernard Lagat on his way to victory at the IAAF Continental Cup (© Getty Images)

Bernard Lagat was one of the stars of the last IAAF Continental Cup, winning both the 3000m and 5000m in Split. At this year’s edition in Marrakech in 13-14 September, the US distance runner will defend his title in the shorter of those events and will also help the Americas in defending their overall team crown.

As well as being the oldest member of the team, the 39-year-old will be the only athlete from the Americas to be defending a title in Marrakech. Lagat has never lost at this competition either; he won the 1500m for Africa at the 2002 IAAF World Cup, the forerunner to the Continental Cup.

The team also includes five reigning global champions and eight world-leading performers.

World triple jump champion Caterine Ibarguen fits into both of those categories. Undefeated since August 2012, the Colombian will be one of the Americas team’s biggest assets in Marrakech.

Fellow world champion LaShawn Merritt goes in the 400m, while Olympic champion Keshorn Walcott features in the men’s javelin. World indoor champion Francena McCorory will contest the 400m.

Other world leaders on the team include 400m hurdler Javier Culson, shot putter Joe Kovacs, 800m runner Ajee Wilson, sprint hurdler Dawn Harper Nelson, 400m hurdler Kaliese Spencer and long jumper Tianna Bartoletta.


Americas team

100m: Mike Rodgers (USA), Richard Thompson (TTO)
200m: Rasheed Dwyer (JAM), Alonso Edward (PAN)
400m: LaShawn Merritt (USA), Luguelin Santos (DOM)
800m: Duane Solomon (USA), Wesley Vazquez (PUR)
1500m: Leo Manzano (USA), Charles Philibert-Thiboutot (CAN)
3000m: Bernard Lagat (USA), Carlos Antonio dos Santos (BRA)
5000m: Andrew Bumbalough (USA), Ivan Lopez (CHI)
3000m steeplechase: Matt Hughes (CAN), Evan Jager (USA)
110m hurdles: Ronnie Ash (USA), Yodan O’Farrill (CUB)
400m hurdles: Javier Culson (PUR), Michael Tinsley (USA)
High jump: Derek Drouin (CAN), Erik Kynard (USA)
Pole vault: Augusto Dutra (BRA), Mark Hollis (USA)
Long jump: Will Claye (USA), Luis Rivera (MEX)
Triple jump: Claye, Jonathan Silva (BRA)
Shot put: Joe Kovacs (USA), O’Dayne Richards (JAM)
Discus: Jorge Fernandez (CUB), Jason Morgan (JAM)
Hammer: Roberto Janet (CUB), Kibwe Johnson (USA)
Javelin: Tim Glover (USA), Keshorn Walcott (TTO)
4x100m: Nesta Carter (JAM), Kim Collins (SKN), Rodgers, Thompson
4x400m: Chris Brown (BAH), Merritt, Gil Roberts (USA), Santos

100m: Michelle-Lee Ahye (TTO), Veronica Campbell-Brown (JAM)
200m: Joanna Atkins (USA), Anthoniqu Strachan (BAH)
400m: Francena McCorory (USA), Novlene Williams-Mills (JAM)
800m: Sahily Diago (CUB), Ajee Wilson (USA)
1500m: Shannon Rowbury (USA), Nicole Sifuentes (CAN)
3000m: Gabe Grunewald (USA), Jessica O’Connell (CAN)
5000m: Brenda Flores (MEX), Katie Mackey (USA)
3000m steeplechase: Emma Coburn (USA), Jessica Furlan (CAN)
100m hurdles: Dawn Harper Nelson (USA), Lavonne Idlette (DOM)
400m hurdles: Kori Carter (USA), Kaliese Spencer (JAM)
High jump: Chaunte Lowe (USA), Levern Spencer (LCA)
Pole vault: Becky Holliday (USA), Fabiana Murer (BRA)
Long jump: Tianna Bartoletta (USA), Christabel Nettey (CAN)
Triple jump: Caterine Ibarguen (COL), Kimberly Williams (JAM)
Shot put: Cleopatra Borel (TTO), Michelle Carter (USA)
Discus: Gia Lewis-Smallwood (USA), Yaime Perez (CUB)
Hammer: Amanda Bingson (USA), Sultana Frizell (CAN)
Javelin: Liz Gleadle (CAN), Kara Patterson (USA)
4x100m: Ahye, Atkins, Bartoletta, Campbell-Brown, Samantha Henry-Robinson (JAM)
4x400m: Christine Day (JAM), McCorory, Stephenie Ann McPherson (JAM), Williams-Mills