Seiko Countdown394d 5h 22m 35s
World Athletics Championships Oregon22

News26 Sep 2016

Defending champion Kipyego set to face triple winner Chebet in Amsterdam


Bernard Kipyego wins the Amsterdam Marathon (© AFP / Getty Images)

Organisers of the TCS Amsterdam Marathon have announced that Bernard Kipyego, Wilson Chebet, Sammy Kitwara and Dino Sefir will compete at the IAAF Gold Label Road Race on 16 October.

Kipyego, who has won the past two editions of the Amsterdam Marathon, will be looking to complete a hat-trick of victories in the Dutch capital.

“I also aim to lower the course record,” said Kipyego, who will target Chebet’s mark of 2:05:36 set in 2013.

Chebet will do everything he can to retain his course record. He will be contesting the Amsterdam Marathon for the sixth year in a row and is familiar with every bend of the fast course. After winning the marathon in 2011, 2012 and 2013, he was nicknamed ‘Mr Amsterdam’.

But Kipyego and Chebet will have to fend off Sammy Kitwara and Dino Sefir, both of whom have run faster than 2:05:00.

Kitwara ran his personal best at the 2014 Chicago Marathon, where he finished second in 2:04:28. He has finished in the top four in Chicago on four occasions, and has twice been runner-up, but the 29-year-old Kenyan will be aiming to secure his first marathon victory in Amsterdam next month.

Sefir has big plans for his return to the Dutch capital. The Ethiopian dropped out of the 2014 Amsterdam Marathon due to illness but has returned to form this year, winning the Barcelona and Ottawa Marathons. His personal best of 2:04:50 was set at the 2012 Dubai Marathon.

Organisers for the IAAF