News26 Aug 2004

Athletics triumphs in IOC Athletes Commission Elections


An emotional Hicham El Guerrouj after winning the 1500m gold (© Getty Images)

 Athletics stars Hicham El Guerrouj, Frank Fredericks and Jan Zelezny were among the four athletes elected by their peers at the Athens Olympics to seats on the IOC Athletes Commission – and eight-year terms as IOC members.

The voting took place from August 11 to August 25 at the Olympic Village. The four winners were chosen from 30 candidates who were on the ballot.

The other winner was Egyptian swimmer Rania Elwani.

Zelezny gets a second chance at serving in the IOC after winning election in 2000 – but resigning from his seat a year later to have more time for training.

All candidates on the ballot were nominated by the National Olympic Committee of their country. To qualify they must have competed at the Sydney or Athens Olympics and not have been found guilty of a doping infraction.

Pages related to this article