News08 Jul 2015

Berlin Marathon signs up Kipchoge, Emmanuel Mutai and Geoffrey Mutai


Eliud Kipchoge wins the 2014 Chicago Marathon (© Getty Images)

Eliud Kipchoge, the most successful marathon runner in the world in the past 12 months, will face the second and third-fastest marathon runners of all time at the BMW Berlin Marathon on Sunday 27 September, the organisers of the IAAF Gold Label Road Race announced on Wednesday (8).

Kipchoge won the London Marathon in the spring of 2015 and the Chicago Marathon in October 2014. But the Kenyan will face strong competition at the 42nd edition of the famous race in the German capital, especially from two of his compatriots.

Emmanuel Mutai is the third-fastest marathon runner of all time, regardless of course specification.

Last year, he finished second in Berlin just 16 seconds behind the winner, Dennis Kimetto, who set a world record of 2:02:57 while Mutai crossed the line in 2:03:13.

In 2011, Geoffrey Mutai ran the classic distance faster than anyone before him with a win at the Boston Marathon in 2:03:02. Despite the fact that Boston is not a record-eligible course, it was still a feat of running that made headlines around the world.

All three Kenyan runners have experience with the Berlin course and all have previously stood on the podium.

Kipchoge was second with his personal best of 2:04:05 in 2013, behind compatriot Wilson Kipsang, who set what was then a world record of 2:03:23.

Emmanuel Mutai finished second last year, while Geoffrey Mutai has twice had a spot on the podium, finishing second in 2010 and then winning in 2012 with a time of 2:04:15.

“We are delighted to have these three runners at the start," said race director Mark Milde. "With their qualifications, we can certainly look forward to exciting race."

Organisers for the IAAF

Elite field (with PBs)

Emmanuel Mutai (KEN) 2:03:13
Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) 2:04:05
Geoffrey Mutai (KEN) 2:04:15 / 2:03:02
Feyisa Lilesa (ETH) 2:04:52
Eliud Kiptanui (KEN) 2:05:39
Tamirat Tola (ETH) 2:06:17
Lusapho April (RSA) 2:08:32
Masanori Sakai (JPN) 2:09:10
Tomoyuki Morita (JPN) 2:09:12
Koji Gokaya (JPN) 2:09:21
Yared Shegumo (POL) 2:10:34
Rafael Iglesias (ESP) 2:10:44
Scott Overall (GBR) 2:10:55
Michael Shelley (AUS) 2:11:15
Reid Coolsaet (CAN) 2:11:35
Fernando Cabada (USA) 2:11:36
Pablo Villalobos (ESP) 2:12:21
Jean Habarurema (FRA) 2:12:40
Shadrack Biwott (USA) 2:12:55
Andre Pollmacher (GER) 2:13:05
Sean Quigley (USA) 2:13:30
Falk Cierpinski (GER) 2:13:30
Julian Flugel (GER) 2:14:20
Philipp Pflieger (GER)