News16 Jan 2017

Dibaba leads all-star cast for Torun


Ethiopia's Genzebe Dibaba in action (© AFP / Getty Images)

At a press conference in Torun on Monday (16) organisers of the Copernicus Cup revealed the first wave of international stars set to compete at the IAAF World Indoor Tour meeting on 10 February.

World 1500m champion Genzebe Dibaba will target her own world indoor 1500m record of 3:55.17 when she returns to the country where she won her first world indoor 3000m title.

“3:55.17 is a difficult mark to break, but we have been told that Genzebe is in very good shape,” said meeting director Krzysztof Wolsztynski. “We will try to do all we can to help her beat the world record – not only will we organise a strong line-up, but she will also be supported by an enthusiastic crowd in Torun.”

The three-time world indoor champion will line up against her younger sister Anna, fellow Ethiopian and 2014 world indoor silver medallist Axumawit Embaye, 2014 European 5000m champion Meraf Bahta and European under-23 cross-country champion Sofia Ennaoui.

Dibaba isn’t the only record-breaker heading to Torun. Ewa Swoboda will return to the arena where she broke the world U20 indoor 60m record last year. Her 7.07 clocking was also a Polish record and she will be looking to improve on that mark in front of her home crowd.

Three of the top four finishers from last year’s Olympics will clash in the men’s 60m hurdles. Olympic silver medallist Orlando Ortega will face Olympic bronze medallist Dimitri Bascou, European indoor champion Pascal Martinot-Lagarde and US indoor champion Jarret Eaton.

Several international stars have also been announced to take on the previously announced top Polish 800m runners.

World champion Maryna Arzamasova and European 1500m champion Angelika Cichocka will face Olympic finalist Joanna Jozwik in the women’s race, while USA’s Eric Sowinski and Ireland’s Mark English will take on two-time European champion Adam Kszczot and European indoor champion Marcin Lewandowski in the men’s event.

Donald Thomas, the 2007 world champion, leads a high jump field that also includes 2004 Olympic bronze medallist Jaroslav Baba, China’s Wang Yu and Greek champion Konstadinos Baniotis.

Organisers for the IAAF