Deressa Chimsa of Ethiopia crosses the line in 2:08:45 in Daegu (Organisers) © Copyright
General News

Ethiopian sweep at Daegu Marathon

Deressa Chimsa and Yeshi Esayais of Ethiopia took convincing victories at the second edition of the Daegu International Marathon on Sunday (11).

Running along portions of the course which will be used for the Marathon races at the IAAF World Championships, Daegu 2011, Chimsa clocked 2:08:45 to win the men's race while Esayias defended her title in the women's with a 2:29:17 run, breaking her own course record.

Running in his first Marathon since failing to finish over the distance at last August’s World Championships, Chimsa broke away from 2009 winner Ji Young-Jun of Korea after 35 kilometres to take the convincing victory, the first of his international career. The 33-year-old Ethiopian fell a little shy of Ji’s 2:08:30 course record set last year.

Although fading during the waning kilometre, Ji held on to finish second in 2:09:31, well ahead of Ethiopia’s Wegayehu Girma Tefera, who was third in 2:10:09.

In the women’s race, the 24-year-old Esayias led a top-four sweep for Ethiopia with the fastest run of her career, and her second sub-2:30 performance.

Harun Makda was a distant second in 2:30:44, just three seconds ahead of Mulu Seboka. Martha Markos was fourth with a personal best of 2:32:11 to finish out the Ethiopian sweep.

Bob Ramsak for the IAAF

Leading Results -

 1. Deressa Chimsa, ETH         2:08:45
 2. Ji Young-Jun, KOR           2:09:31
 3. Wegayehu Girma Tefera, ETH  2:10:09 PB 
 4. Sammy Kurgat, KEN           2:11:29 
 5. Philip Kimutai, KEN         2:12:52 
 6. Dmitriy Safronov, RUS       2:12:55
 7. Samson Barmao, KEN          2:12:59 
 8. Wolaye Amare, ETH           2:13:12 PB 
 9. Joseph Ngeny, KEN           2:13:52 
10. Raymond Kipkoech, KEN       2:14:21 

 1. Yeshi Esayias, ETH    2:29:17 PB
 2. Harun Makda, ETH      2:30:44 
 3. Mulu Seboka, ETH      2:30:47 
 4. Martha Markos, ETH    2:32:11 PB 
 5. Lee Eun-Jung, KOR     2:32:22 
 6. Risper Kimayo, KEN    2:32:28 
 7. Leah Malot, KEN       2:34:57 
 8. Wei Yanan, CHN        2:35:46 
 9. Yun Sun-Sook, KOR     2:35:59
10. Lee Sun-Young, KOR    2:37:58