News14 Jan 2020

Geremew and Wasihun to challenge Kipchoge in London


Mosinet Geremew finishing second at the 2019 London Marathon (© AFP/Getty Images)

Mosinet Geremew and Mule Wasihun, the Ethiopian duo who pushed the legendary Eliud Kipchoge to the limit at the 2019 Virgin Money London Marathon, have confirmed they will return to the World Athletics Platinum Label road race on 26 April.

With Kipchoge, the 2018 and 2019 World Athlete of the Year, already confirmed, it means all three podium finishers from last year will be back for the 2020 edition.

Geremew, 27, ran the fifth fastest time in history of 2:02:55 to take second place behind Kipchoge in last year’s race and then had to settle for second again in his next marathon, the World Championships in Doha last October.

Wasihun’s time in finishing third in London last year, 2:03:16, was the 11th fastest marathon the world has ever seen.

Shura Kitata, who was fourth last year and second in 2018, has also been confirmed, ensuring that it looks likely to be a year when it is the Ethiopians who will be the biggest threat to Kipchoge winning a historic fifth London Marathon title.

Spencer Barden, London Marathon's head of elite athletes, said: “Last year’s elite men’s race was one of the best races we have seen for many years. Mosinet Geremew and Mule Wasihun pushed Eliud Kipchoge as hard as I have ever seen but ultimately could not hang on to the great man in the final two miles. But they will have taken confidence from last year and will come back this time round looking to cause a real shock.”

Kipchoge, who made history by becoming the first human to cover the marathon distance within two hours at the INEOS 1:59 Challenge in October, is looking to become the most successful able-bodied athlete in London Marathon history by winning a fifth title in 2020.

Organisers for World Athletics

Men's elite field

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) 2:01:39
Mosinet Geremew (ETH) 2:02:55
Mule Wasihun (ETH) 2:03:16
Tamirat Tola (ETH) 2:04:06
Marius Kipserem (KEN) 2:04:11
Shura Kitata (ETH) 2:04:49
Vincent Kipchumba (KEN) 2:05:09
Sondre Moen (NOR) 2:05:48
Gideon Kipketer (KEN) 2:05:51
Yassine Rachik (ITA) 2:08:05
Jack Rayner (AUS) 2:11:06