Mai Fujisawa, 2010 IAU Asian 100Km champion (Nadeem Khan) © Copyright
General News

IAU 100Km Asian titles up for grabs on Jeju Island

The 2nd IAU 100km Asian Championships are set for this Saturday (26) on Jeju Island, Korea.

This is the second time in as many years that Jeju Island will host the Asian Championships. Located on the Southwest seas of Korea, the location is the largest of the nation’s islands.

Last year’s men’s winner Dong Mun Lee from Korea won’t be back to defend his title leaving Japan’s Yoshikazu Hara as the favourite in the men’s field. Hara boasts a personal best of 6:48:41. He will be challenged by the local contingent and by the athletes from Mongolia and Taipei.

2010 women’s winner Mai Fujisawa, also from Japan, is back to defend her title and leads the field. Last hear she ran 8:01:32 to win the gold. She will have a strong contingent of runners from Korea who will compete with her.

The race course is set on the edge of the island overlooking the coastal areas. The athletes competing in the race, as part of their national federations, will compete for the title of Asian Champions.

Leading entrants:
1) Yoshikazu Hara (JPN)
2) Kim Daesoo (KOR)
3) Kim Wansoo (KOR)
4) Khadbaatar Boldbaatar (MGL)
5) Pin Chi Chou (TPE)

1) Mai Fujisawa (JPN)
2) Narae Park (KOR)
3) Heekyung Joung (KOR)
4) Yeonsook Jung (KOR)
5) Otgontuul Volooj (MGL)

Nadeem Khan (IAU) for the IAAF