News21 Sep 2011

Kanter throws 67.99m in Warsaw


Gerd Kanter of Estonia competes in the men's Discus Throw final in Daegu (© Getty Images)

Warsaw, Poland - Gerd Kanter's 67.99m season's best in the Discus Throw highlighted the second edition of the Kamila Skolimowska Memorial in Warsaw on Tuesday (20).

Competing before a crowd of some 3000, Kanter, the reigning Olympic champion and the silver medallist at this year's World Chanpionships, reached his best effort in the fifth round, and backed up his strong late-season form with a 67.34m in round three.

Hugary's Zoltan Kovago, the world leader, was second with 66.69m with Robert Urbanek throwing a personal best 64.37m to beat local hero Piotr Malachowski, who threw 63.93m.

In the signature Hammer Throw events World champion Tatyana Lysenko of Russia beat Pole Anita Wlodarczyk, the 2009 World champion, 72.19m to 71.02m. In men´s competition European U23 champion Pawel Fajdek put his talent on display, winning with a last round win 77.96m over world medalists Krisztian Pars (76.97m) and Primoz Kozmus (72.88m).

In a very interesting men's Shot Put competition - throwers had two throws each with 8, 7, 6 and 5 kg implements - the overall winner was Canada's Dylan Armstrong with an 88.67m score over Olympic champion Tomasz Majewski (88.64) and Christian Cantwell (87.24). With the 8 kg shot the best was Cantwell (20.27m); with the standard 7 kg again Cantwell achieved the best mark at 21.42; but with 6 kg Armstrong was the best (23.26m) and with the 5 kg Majewski tossed to 24.88m. The marks for the top trio: 1. Armstrong (20.03-21.23-23.26-24.15), 2. Majewski (19.75-20.86-23.15-24.88), 3. Cantwell (20.27-21.42-22.71-22.81).

European indoor champion Adam Kszczot made a worthy solo effort in the 800m with 1:45.48 ahead of Euro outdoor champion Marcin Lewandowski. (1:49.48).

Elsewhere on the track, In his first visit to Poland, South African Oscar Pistorius won the 400m in 46.65 while Pole Angelika Cichocka won the 1000m in  2:37.33. Cuban Yuniel Perez won the men's 100m in 10.31 (+1.8) while Briton Montell Douglas took the women's sprint in 11.52 (+0.8) with legendary Merlene Ottey finishing fourth in 11.84, her second fastest of the year 11.84.

Elsewhere on the infield, Slovak Jana Veldakova, with a last jump effort, won the long jump with 6.55m (wind +2.2) over Norway's Margrethe Renstrom, whose 6.53m (+0.8) was the third best leap of her career.

Alfons Juck for the IAAF

Pages related to this article