News27 Jun 2017

Twelve Olympic champions set to compete in London – IAAF Diamond League


Elaine Thompson at the IAAF Diamond League meeting in London (© Kirby Lee)

Some of the world’s biggest athletics stars will turn out for the Müller Anniversary Games on 9 July as 12 Olympic champions, 23 Olympic silver and bronze medallists, and 11 world champions are set to take part at the IAAF Diamond League meeting in London.

Sparks will fly in the women’s 100m when double Olympic sprint champion Elaine Thompson lines up against world 200m champion Dafne Schippers, Britain’s fastest woman Dina Asher-Smith and European indoor 60m champion Asha Philip.

Schippers finished second to Thompson in the 200m at the Olympic Games in Rio and fifth in the 100m final. This year, she has her sights on a medal over the shorter distance to add to her world silver in the 100m from two years go in Beijing.

“The Müller Anniversary Games is one of my favourite meets of the year,” said Schippers. “All the biggest international stars want to compete there and this year it will be even more of a big deal, so it will be like a preview of the World Championships.

“Competing in the 100m at this event will be an important part of my preparation for the World Championships and looking at the names in the field, I think it will be a really exciting race.”

Olympic champion Jeff Henderson will go head to head with world champion Greg Rutherford in the long jump, while Olympic champion Kerron Clement and Olympic bronze medallist Yasmani Copello headline a strong 400m hurdles race.

“I love competing in the UK at the Müller Anniversary Games,” said Clement. “The London Stadium is a fantastic place and the crowd is always amazing. It’s one of the biggest meets on the circuit and this year it will be off the chart.

“Everyone should be at their best and really pushing to see where they are compared to their main rivals for the World Championships, so it will be a really exciting afternoon.”

Olympic champion Ruth Beitia, 2012 world indoor champion Chaunte Lowe, European indoor silver medallist Alessia Trost and Britain’s Morgan Lake form part of a strong women’s high jump field.

In addition, the Olympic gold, silver and bronze medallists – Ekaterini Stefanidi, Sandi Morris and Eliza McCartney – as well world champion Yarisley Silva and Britain’s Holly Bradshaw are set to provide superb entertainment in the women’s pole vault.

Olympic champion Sara Kolak will take on world record-holder Barbora Spotakova in the women’s javelin.

Organisers for the IAAF

2017 IAAF Diamond League calendar:
5 May – Doha, QAT
13 May – Shanghai, CHN
27 May – Eugene, USA
8 Jun – Rome, ITA
15 Jun – Oslo, NOR
18 Jun – Stockholm, SWE
1 Jul – Paris, FRA
6 Jul – Lausanne, SUI
9 Jul – London, GBR
16 Jul – Rabat, MAR
21 Jul – Monaco, MON
20 Aug – Birmingham, GBR
24 Aug – Zurich, SUI
1 Sep – Brussels, BEL