News08 Sep 2010

Murofushi and Heidler take overall titles and prize of $30,000 each – IAAF World Hammer Throw Challenge


IAAF Hammer Throw - logo (©

MonteCarloJapan’s Koji Murofushi and Germany’s Betty Heidler are the inaugural winners of the IAAF World Hammer Throw Challenge and will each receive a prize of US$30,000.

The season long battle was very close. Murofushi, the 2004 Olympic champion, took the men’s title thanks to a dramatic surge in the last two meets - which included a world season leading 80.96m effort in Rieti - to deny Dilshod Nazarov by just over two metres; the latter had three series victories to Murofushi’s two. In the women’s battle, Heidler, the 2007 World champion, held off reigning World title and record holder Anita Wlodarczyk by less than a metre; both took two victories during the series.

The inaugural season of the IAAF Hammer Throw Challenge consisted of 11 meetings with 7 scoring opportunities for both men and women.

In order to be ranked in the final Overall Standings, an athlete had to have participated in at least three events with only their best three results scoring for the ranking (scoring corresponds to the distance thrown), with the highest three scores deciding the overall men’s and women’s winners.

The top 12 positions in the Challenge were rewarded - total of US$202,000 ($101,000 for Men and Women) in prize money - as follows: 1st place: $30,000 - 2nd place: $20,000 - 3rd place: $14,000 - 4th place: $9000 - 5th place: $7000 - 6th place: $6000 - 7th place: $4500 - 8th place: $4000 - 9th place: $3000 - 10th place: $2000 - 11th place: $1000 - 12th place: $500.

1. Koji Murofushi (JPN) 238.52
2. Dilshod Nazarov (TJK) 236.02
3. Libor Charfreitag (SVK) 235.26
Click here for full standings

1. Betty Heidler (GER) 225.88
2. Anita Wlodarczyk (POL) 225.3
3. Tatyana Lysenko (RUS) 223.96
Click here for full standings


Pages related to this article