News07 Feb 2009

Mutai and Chepkwony win in South Rift as two perish in Kisii


Philes Ongori in Osaka (© Getty Images)

Kenya is mourning the death through road accident of Japan-based Jafferson Siekei and schoolboy Christopher Michira, who perished on their way to Nyanza South Provincial Championships in Kisii on Friday.

Siekei was 12th in the men's 12km race at last year's National Championships. The previous year, he was part of the winning Kenyan team at the Beijing Ekiden.

"He was driving a motorbike with Michira as his passenger when they were involved in a head-on collision with an on-coming lorry," said Peter Angwenyi, Nyanza South AK chairman.

Michira was a third-year student at the nearby Nyamira Secondary.

Witnesses said the bike, which was being driven by Siekei was moving at a high speed when the accident occurred.

Several athletes like Boaz Mayaka and Siekei's former coach, Isaac Nyambega, were among the first to arrive at the scene.

At the Nyanza South Provincial Championships, Phylis Ongori won the women's 8km race while McDonald Ondara took the men's 12km title.

Mutai and Chepkwony take South Rift valley titles

In the neghbouring South Rift Valley town of Kilgoris, Geoffrey Mutai clocked 35:48.02 to win the men's 12km race while David Tarus was second in 35:49.04. Gilbert Langat was second in 36:11.06.

Caroline Chepkwony from Kericho won the senior women's 8km race after leading from start. She clocked 25:00.02. Ann Karendi timed 26:21.01 was second. Third position went to Irene Cherotich who timed 26:39.04.

Last year's Commonwealth Youth Games 5,000m bronze medalist, Japhet Korir clocked 21:01 minutes to win 8km junior men's race.

Leonard Langat was second in 21:50:02, while Paul Mutero Koira timed 21:52.00 for the third position.

Hilda Chepkemoi trounced 2007 World Youth gold medalist Mercy Cherono, who failed to finish the 6km junior women's race due to a stitch.

Chepkemoi clocked 18:60.00 after sprinting to the finish, leaving Jackline Chepngeno in second position timed 19:03.01. Faith Chepngetich closed the best three by clocking 19:05.03.

Omulo Okoth for the IAAF

Nyanza South Provincial Championships
Senior MEN (12 km) -
 1. McDonald Ondara 37:20
 2. Justus Mogere   37:51
 3. Moses Nkeiywa   38:08
 4. Isaya Ondiek    38:14
 5. DeKlerk Omari   38:18

Senior WOMEN (8 km)
 1. Phylis Ongori   28:07
 2. Jelia Tinega    28:28
 3. Rispa Gesabwa   29:07
 4. Alice Mogire    29:08
 5. Jackline Okemwa 30:08

Junior MEN (8 km)
 1. Paul Tanui         24:33
 2. Emmanuel Ngatunyi  24:46
 3. Gideon Mageka      25:05
 4. Edwin Mokua        25:07
 5. Geoffrey Bundi     25:11

Junior WOMEN (6 km)
 1. Jane Onyami      22:02
 2. Lilian Mosoi     22:08
 3. Judith Ngatunyi  22:42
 4. Faith Mogaka     22:43
 5. Rose Moroga      22:52

Pages related to this article