Sizzling 58:30 for Zersenay Tadese in Lisbon in 2011 (Marcelino Almeida) © Copyright
General News 18 September 2011 – Oporto, Portugal

Tadese under one hour in Oporto

Oporto, PortugalEritrean Zersenay Tadese won today’s Oporto SportZone Half Marathon with a new course record of 59:30.

In a strong effort the organisers of the race invited Tadese to move the race to a new level. Several months after Tadese - the World record holder at 58:23 – clocked a 2011 world leading-58:30 in Lisbon, he returned to Portugal challenged by this invitation to improve his world record. But he didn’t receive the same support.

Tadese went out quickly but already passed the pace-setter Rui Pedro Silva before the first five kilometres. He reached 10Km in 27:52, on World record pace.

Although he couldn’t maintain the pace in the second half, he nonetheless managed to break the course record of 1:00:04 set by Haile Gebrselassie in 2009.

This was the fifth edition of this event, held in a historical region in the second most important town of Portugal, and the podium of the men's race was completed by Kenyans Philip Sanga (1:01:09) and Stanley Kipleting (1:01:10), followed by African runners until the 12th spot, taken by Portuguese Paulo Gomes in 1:04:53.

The women's race was won by Kenyan Doris Changeywo with 1:10:36 after a strong pace even from the start, leaving her opponents far behind.

But Portuguese Ana Dulce Félix, who clocked a national record of 1:08:33 this year in Lisbon, had a strong finish, and took second in 1:10:46, nine seconds clear of Kenyan Josephine Kimuyu.

António Manuel Fernandes for the IAAF

Leading Results -


1. Zersenay Tadese, ERI             59:30

2. Philip Kimutai Sanga, KEN       1:01:09

3. Stanley Biwott Kipleting, KEN  1:01:10

4. Amanuel Messel, ERI             1:01:20

5. Joel Kimurer, KEN               1:01:23

6. Kiflon Sium, ERI               1:01:54

7. Erick Kibet, KEN               1:02:01

8. Mike Kiprop Tiony, KEN         1:02:16


1. Doris Changeywo, KEN       1:10:36

2. Ana Dulce Felix, POR       1:10:46

3. Josephine Kimuyu, KEN       1:11:55

4. Hellen Mugo Wanjiku, KEN   1:13:26

5 Jane Muia, KEN               1:13:57

6. Nebiath Habtemarian, ERI   1:14:21

7. Emma Quaglia, ITA           1:14:38

8. Leonor Carneiro, POR       1:14:52