Gold medal for Asbel Kiprop of Kenya and silver medal for Silas Kiplagat of Kenya in the men's 1500 metres final (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News Nairobi, Kenya

World champions Kiprop, Kiplagat and Kemboi lead Kenyan team for Moscow

Just three of Kenya’s six reigning World champions will defend their titles at the 2013 IAAF World Championships in Moscow from 10-18 August.

Steeplechaser Ezekiel Kemboi, marathon runner Edna Kiplagat and 1500m specialist Asbel Kiprop all took gold two years ago in Daegu. Of the other three Kenyan athletes who won gold medals in 2011, David Rudisha and Abel Kirui are currently injured, while Vivian Cheruiyot is pregnant.

Kemboi, the Olympic champion over the distance, will be one of four Kenyan men entered in the 3000m Steeplechase. Paul Kipsiele Koech will take advantage of a wildcard entry, having won the 2012 Diamond Race in his event. But the best hopes for gold could rest with Conseslus Kipruto, who is undefeated this year.

Three of the four men entered for the 1500m boast sub-3:30 PBs. Fastest of those is Kiprop, who recently went to fourth on the world all-time list with his 3:27.72 run in Monaco.

Kiplagat is one of two Kenyan women named in the Marathon with a best below 2:20. The other is Lucy Kabuu, who is the third-fastest Kenyan woman of all-time over the distance with her best of 2:19:34.

The Kenyan men named in the Marathon are also strong. Bernard Koech is the fastest of the quintet this year with his 2:04:53 run in Dubai on his debut at the distance. Also on the team is Paris winner Peter Some and 2009 World Half-marathon silver medallist Bernard Kipyego.

Having defeated double Olympic champion Mo Farah earlier this year, Edwin Soi will go to Moscow with high hopes of winning a medal. Joining him in that event will be three men with sub-12:50 PBs: Isaiah Koech, John Kipkoech and Thomas Longosiwa.

Other medal chances include Kenyan Trials 10,000m winner Bedan Karoki, Steeplechasers Milcah Chemos and Lydia Chepkurui, and 1500m runners Faith Kipyegon and Hellen Obiri.

Meanwhile, national record-holder and Olympic finalist Julius Yego will become the first man to represent Kenya in the Javelin at the IAAF World Championships.



200m: Mike Mokamba
800m: Anthony Chemut, Jeremiah Mutai, Ferguson Rotich
1500m: Bethwell Birgen, Nixon Chepseba, Silas Kiplagat, Asbel Kiprop
5000m: John Kipkoech, Isaiah Koech, Thomas Longosiwa, Edwin Soi
10,000m: Bedan Karoki, Kenneth Kiprop, Paul Tanui
Marathon: Nicholas Kipkemboi, Bernard Kipyego, Mike Kipyego, Bernard Koech, Peter Some
3000m Steeplechase: Ezekiel Kemboi, Abel Kiprop, Conseslus Kipruto, Paul Kipsiele Koech
Javelin: Julius Yego
4x400m Relay: Moses Kertich, Alphas Kishoiyan, Vincent Koskei, Mike Mokamba, Boniface Mweresa

400m: Maureen Jelagat
800m: Winny Chebet, Janeth Jepkosgei, Eunice Sum
1500m: Faith Chepngetich Kipyegon, Nancy Langat, Hellen Obiri
5000m: Mercy Cherono, Viola Kibiwott, Margaret Wangare
10,000m: Emily Chebet, Sally Chepyego, Gladys Cherono
Marathon: Margaret Akai, Agnes Barsosio, Lucy Kabuu, Edna Kiplagat, Eunice Kirwa
3000m Steeplechase: Milcah Chemos, Lydia Chepkurui, Hyvin Kiyeng, Lydia Chebet Rotich