Countdown458d 5h 7m 52s
World Athletics Championships Oregon22

News23 Mar 2016

Spain names full team of 21 for Rome


Spanish race walker Jesus Angel Garcia (© Getty Images)

Spain will be represented by 21 athletes at the IAAF World Race Walking Team Championships Rome 2016 on 7-8 May.

The team is headlined by world 20km race walk champion Miguel Angel Lopez and 1997 IAAF World Race Walking Cup winner Jesus Angel Garcia.

Lopez finished fifth at the 2014 edition in Taicang, but when he returned to China one year later for the IAAF World Championships, he was triumphant in the 20km event.

Garcia’s first appearance at this event, back when it was known as the IAAF World Race Walking Cup, was in 1993 when he finished second. He went on to win the world title later that year in Stuttgart.

With three medals and eight top-six finishes, the 46-year-old is the most successful athlete in the history of the championships.

Spain has amassed 14 medals at this competition over the years. Garcia is one of just three Spanish athletes to have won individual gold medals, the others being Jose Marin over 20km in 1985 and Francisco Javier Fernandez over 20km in 2006 and 2008.

Spanish team for Rome

20km race walk: Alberto Amezcua, Diego Garcia, Miguel Angel Lopez, Alvaro Martin, Benjamin Sanchez
50km race walk: Francisco Arcilla, Jose Ignacio Diaz, Jesus Angel Garcia, Mikel Odriozola, Pablo Oliva
U20 10km race walk: Manuel Bermudez, Daniel Chamosa, Ivan Lopez

20km race walk: Raquel Gonzalez, Beatriz Pascual, Ainhoa Pinedo, Maria Jose Poves, Julia Takacs
U20 10km race walk: Carmen Escariz, Irene Montejo, Marina Pena