Report28 Jul 2013

Kamworor and Jeptoo win in Bogota


Kenya's Geoffrey Kipsang (© Getty Images)

Kenyans Geoffrey Kamworor and Priscah Jeptoo triumphed at the 14th edition of the Media Maraton de Bogota, an IAAF Gold Label Road Race, which took place through the streets of the Colombian capital on Sunday (28).

Kamworor completed the half-marathon in 1:03:46 and Jeptoo’s time was 1:12:24 in races that were held at altitude of 2625m.

The 20-year-old Kamworor, possessor of the best performance in the world this year over the distance with 58:54, achieved in Ras Al Khaimah in February, went ahead of the pack at 12km along with compatriot Peter Kirui, the winner of the 2012 edition of the race.

One kilometre later Kipsang started to open a gap and by 17km it became clear that Kirui was losing more ground and that he couldn’t challenge Kamworor’s victory.

Kenyan runners dominated the race, taking the top four places of the classification.

In the women’s race Jeptoo took control by the tenth kilometre of the competition, after fellow Kenyan Isabella Ochichi set the pace in the early stages of the race.

Jeptoo, the Marathon silver medallist at the 2012 London Olympics and the 2011 World Championships, extended her lead by the fifteenth kilometre. At that point it became clear that the 29-year-old would triumphantly enter the ‘Parque Simon Bolivar’.

A late surge by Peruvian Ines Melchor gave the second place to the South American runner over Ethiopian Amane Gobena.

The course records of 1:02:24 by Kenyans Geoffrey Mutai (2011) and 1:10:29 by Susan Chepkemei (2003) remained untouched.

A total of 15,000 runners took part in the Half-marathon, while 29,448 people participated in the complementary 10km race in a cloudy morning with temperatures around 16°C. The top Colombian runners were Alirio Carrasco, sixth in the men’s race in 1:06:16, and Carolina Tabares, seventh in the women’s race in 1:17:55.

Eduardo Biscayart for the IAAF


1 Geoffrey Kamworor (KEN) 1:03:46
2 Peter Kirui (KEN) 1:04:48
3 Kiplimo Kimutai (KEN) 1:05:15
4 Wilson Kipsang (KEN) 1:05:26
5 Tewelde Estifanos (ERI) 1:05:37
6 Jose Alirio Carrasco (COL) 1:06:16
7 Lucky Mohale Modike (RSA) 1:06:29
8 Raul Pacheco (PER) 1:07:02
9 Diego Colorado (COL) 1:07:02
10 Erick Mose (KEN) 1:08:13

1 Piscah Jeptoo (KEN) 1:12:24
2 Ines Melchor (PER) 1:14:55
3 Amane Gobena (ETH) 1:15:07
4 Filomena Chepchichir (KEN) 1:15:21
5 Isabella Ochichi (KEN) 1:15:51
6 Letekidan Gebreaham (ERI) 1:17:41
7 Carolina Tabares (COL) 1:17:55
8 Nadia Ejjafini (ITA) 1:17:59
9 Misiker Mekonnin (ETH) 1:18:18
10 Jimena Misayauri (PER) 1:19:34