Press Release22 Feb 2018

Combined events and relay fields announced for IAAF World Indoor Championships Birmingham 2018


Katarina Johnson-Thompson in high jump qualifying at the IAAF World Championships London 2017 (© AFP/Getty Images)

Today marks one week to go before the focus of the athletics world shifts firmly to the IAAF World Indoor Championships Birmingham 2018.

618 athletes from 145 teams have been entered for the 17th edition of the IAAF World Indoor Championships which gets underway on 1 March, hosted for the second time by the United Kingdom's second largest city.

Combined events fields announced

Always among the most popular events on the programme are the combined events, the two-day heptathlon for the men and gruelling one-day pentathlon for the women. Both kick off the action on Friday (2) morning with the women’s champion to be crowned later that evening.

On the men’s side, the focus will fall on Kevin Mayer of France, the world decathlon champion. In the women’s competition, the spotlight will shine on Great Britain’s Katarina Johnson-Thompson, the 2015 European indoor champion in the event. At those continental championships three years ago, Johnson-Thompson tallied 5000 points, the second highest score in history, just 13 points shy of the world record.

Invitations for the combined events were based on the 2017 IAAF Combined Events Challenge, on the 2017 outdoor world season lists and this year’s indoor world season lists with the option to include one additional wild card entry.

Dominik Distelberger, AUT
Jan Dolezal, CZE
Kurt Felix, GRN
Ruben Gado, FRA
Oleksiy Kasyanov, UKR
Kai Kazmirek, GER
Kevin Mayer, FRA
Eelco Sintnicolaas, NED
Maicel Uibo, EST
Lindon Victor, GRN
Damian Warner, CAN
Zach Ziemek, USA

Caroline Agnou, SUI
Erica Bougard, USA
Katerina Cachova, CZE
Ivona Dadic, AUT
Antoinette Nana Djimou Ida, FRA
Katarina Johnson-Thompson, GBR
Eliska Klucinova, CZE
Xenia Krizsan, HUN
Lecabela Quaresma, POR
Yorgelis Rodriguez, CUB
Alina Shukh, UKR
Kendell Williams, USA 

4x400m squads

Entries for the 4x400m have also been finalised. The United States is the defending champion in both the men's and women's races. The Trinidad and Tobago men's squad, the winner's at last summer's IAAF World Championships in London, are also entered.

Czech Republic
Dominican Republic
Great Britain & Northern Ireland
Trinidad & Tobago
United States

Czech Republic
Great Britain & Northern Ireland
United States