Laura Muir in action at the IAAF World Championships (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News

Britain announces squad of 31 for IAAF World Indoor Championships Birmingham 2018

British Athletics today announced a team of 31 for the IAAF World Indoor Championships Birmingham 2018 from 1-4 March.

European indoor champions Laura Muir, Asha Philip and Andrew Pozzi confirmed their places with victory at the British Indoor Championships at Arena Birmingham – the same venue as the World Indoor Championships – last weekend. Muir will be at the centre of attention throughout the championships as she chases the 1500m/3000m double.

They will be joined by another champion from last weekend: 2012 Olympic champion Greg Rutherford who has been given a host nation slot to compete at the championships.

Fellow British indoor champions CJ Ujah, Eilidh Doyle, Shelayna Oskan-Clarke, Jake Wightman and Eilish McColgan also had their selection confirmed while Katarina Johnson-Thompson has accepted an IAAF invite to compete in the pentathlon.

Lee Thompson is one of eight handed their senior British debut having won the national 400m title at the weekend while fellow newcomer Hannah Williams is the youngest member of team aged 19 after being named as part of the women’s 4x400m squad.

Other athletes selected by way of the host nation status include Robbie Grabarz and Morgan Lake in the high jump and Elliot Giles in the 800m.

“This year is an amazing year for our athletes on the international stage and we are looking forward to seeing how they perform across 2018," said Neil Black, Performance Director at British Athletics. "We are delighted that the IAAF World Indoor Championships are being held in Birmingham, where we have just successfully hosted our British Championships, and we are certain it will be a great event for those selected – the home crowd will certainly play its part."

British team for Birmingham


60m: Andrew Robertson, CJ Ujah
400m: Lee Thompson
800m: Elliot Giles
1500m: Chris O’Hare, Jake Wightman
3000m: Jonathan Davies
60m hurdles: David King, Andrew Pozzi
High jump: Robbie Grabarz
Long jump: Greg Rutherford
4x400m: Efe Okoro, Grant Plenderleith, Jamal Rhoden-Stevens, Sebastian Rodger, Owen Smith, Lee Thompson

60m: Daryll Neita, Asha Philip
400m: Zoey Clark, Eilidh Doyle
800m: Mhairi Hendry, Shelayna Oskan-Clarke
1500m: Eilish McColgan, Laura Muir
3000m: Laura Muir, Eilish McColgan
60m hurdles: Marilyn Nwawulor
High jump: Morgan Lake
Pentathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson
4x400m: Amy Allcock, Meghan Beesley, Zoey Clark, Eilidh Doyle, Anyika Onuora, Hannah Williams

British Athletics for the IAAF