IAAF Photo of the Year award (IAAF) © Copyright
Press Release Monaco

Finalists announced for IAAF Photograph of the Year award

With one week to go until the IAAF Athletics Awards 2017, the finalists for the photograph of the year have been selected.

From the 100 images that were submitted, a panel of judges – comprising David Burnett, Raquel Cavaco-Nunes, Dwight Phillips and Rafael Segui – has whittled down the entries to three finalists:

Joosep Martinson

Amanda Ngandu Ntumba of France competes in the girls’ discus final at the IAAF World U18 Championships Nairobi 2017 (Joosep Martinson / Getty Images)

Paul Sanwell

Sally Pearson (l) of Australia in the semi-finals of the 100m hurdles at the IAAF World Championships London 2017 (Paul Sanwell / OP Photography)

Patrick Smith

Usain Bolt of Jamaica looks to the sky in his opening round heat at the IAAF World Championships London 2017 (Patrick Smith / Getty Images)


The winner will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2017 on Friday 24 November.

The 25 shortlisted images will also form part of a photography exhibition which will be held alongside the IAAF Athletics Awards from 22-26 November in Monaco.

The three finalists will also form the panel to determine the winner of the competition for fan photographers.