IAAF logo (IAAF) © Copyright
Press Release Monaco

IAAF approves the application of nine Russian athletes to compete internationally as neutral athletes

The IAAF Doping Review Board has agreed that the applications of nine Russian athletes have met the exceptional eligibility criteria to compete in international competition as neutral athletes in 2018 under competition Rule 22.1A(b) while the Russian national federation (RusAF) remains suspended.

In December 2017, the IAAF issued a simplified application process for 2017 Authorised Neutral Athletes to reapply for continued eligibility to compete in international competitions in 2018.

Since publication of the simplified application and updated guidelines under Rule 22.1A(b) in December, the IAAF has received more than 140 applications from Russian athletes.

A total of 30 Russian athletes have so far been declared eligible to compete as Authorised Neutral Athletes in 2018. 30 applications have been denied.

The Doping Review Board is composed of Robert Hersh (chair), Sylvia Barlag and Antti Pihlakoski.

As this is an ongoing process, the IAAF will only make announcements as and when decisions are made by the Doping Review Board concerning successful applications and those athletes have been informed.

2018 Authorised Neutral Athletes

Date of announcement and athlete/event:

12 April 2018: Klavdiia Afanaseva (race walks), Kseniya Aksyonova (sprints), Olga Eliseeva (race walks), Yuliya Lipanova (race walks), Vasiliy Mizinov (race walks), Sergey Sharypov (race walks), Sergey Shirobokov (race walks), Sergey Shubenkov (sprint hurdles), Yana Smerdova (race walks)

21 February 2018: Maksim Afonin (shot put), Anna Krylova (triple jump)

2 February 2018: Ilya Shkurenev (combined events)

25 January 2018: Viktor Butenko (discus), Danila Danilov (hammer), Alexsey Fedorov (triple jump), Irina Gumenyuk (triple jump), Vyacheslav Kolesnichenko (sprints), Mariya Lasitskene (high jump), Aleksandr Lesnoy (shot put), Alyona Lutkovskaya (pole vault), Danil Lysenko (high jump), Alaina Mamina (sprints), Yuliya Maltseva (discus), Polina Miller (sprints), Ilya Mudrov (pole vault), Olga Mullina (pole vault), Sofiya Palkina (hammer), Viktoriya Prokopenko (triple jump), Anzhelika Sidorova (pole vault), Aleksei Sokyrskii (hammer)