News03 Jul 2021

Canada names 57-strong team for Tokyo


Andre De Grasse celebrates his 200m silver at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games (© Getty Images)

World medallists Andre De Grasse and Damian Warner are among the 57 athletes selected for Canada’s team for the Tokyo Olympic Games.

De Grasse claimed three of Canada’s six medals at the Rio Games in 2016, securing 200m silver and 100m bronze, while also forming part of the bronze medal-winning men’s 4x100m team. Warner, meanwhile, added Olympic decathlon bronze to his two world medals and went on to claim another in Doha in 2019.

“It’s always an honour to represent my country on the world stage,” said De Grasse. “I’m really proud and excited to be going to my second Olympics Games. I look forward to making Canada proud.”

Warner, who heads to Tokyo as the top-ranked athlete in the men’s decathlon, said: “I’m really excited to go to Tokyo. It’s crazy for me to think that I went to the Olympics in 2012, 2016 and now I’m getting ready for my third Olympic Games.

“I couldn’t be more honoured to represent Team Canada and to go over to Tokyo with this talented group. I will have Pierce (LePage) with me in the decathlon, which will be awesome to have a teammate in the same competition. I’m just really looking forward to going over there and competing.”

Among those joining them in Tokyo will be 2016 Olympic 800m fourth-placer Melissa Bishop-Nriagu, Mohammed Ahmed, Gabriela DeBues-Stafford, Evan Dunfee and Sage Watson.

Malindi Elmore returns to Olympic Games action 17 years after she represented Canada in the 1500m in Athens, with the 41-year-old having broken the Canadian marathon record with 2:24:50 last year to achieve her place in the 26.2-mile event.

Canadian team for Tokyo

100m: Khamica Bingham, Crystal Emmanuel
200m: Crystal Emmanuel
400m: Kyra Constantine, Natassha McDonald
800m: Melissa Bishop-Nriagu, Lindsey Butterworth, Madeleine Kelly
1500m: Gabriela DeBues-Stafford, Natalia Hawthorn, Lucia Stafford
5000m: Andrea Seccafien, Julie-Anne Staehli, Kate Van Buskirk
10,000m: Andrea Seccafien
Marathon: Malindi Elmore, Dayna Pidhoresky, Natasha Wodak
3000m steeplechase: Alycia Butterworth, Genevieve Lalonde, Regan Yee
400m hurdles: Noelle Montcalm, Sage Watson
Pole vault: Anicka Newell, Alysha Newman
Long jump: Christabel Nettey
Shot put: Brittany Crew, Sarah Mitton
Javelin: Elizabeth Gleadle
Hammer: Camryn Rogers, Jillian Weir
Heptathlon: Georgia Ellenwood
4x400m: Alicia Brown, Kyra Constantine, Lauren Gale, Natassha McDonald, Noelle Montcalm, Madeline Price, Sage Watson 

100m: Bismark Boateng, Andre De Grasse, Gavin Smellie
200m: Aaron Brown, Andre De Grasse, Brendon Rodney
800m: Marco Arop, Brandon McBride
5000m: Mohammed Ahmed, Lucas Bruchet, Justyn Knight
10,000m: Mohammed Ahmed
Marathon: Trevor Hofbauer, Cameron Levins, Ben Preisner
50km race walk: Mathieu Bilodeau, Evan Dunfee
3000m steeplechase: John Gay, Matthew Hughes
High jump: Django Lovett, Michael Mason
Shot put: Timothy Nedow
Decathlon: Pierce LePage, Damian Warner
4x100m: Bolade Ajomale, Jerome Blake, Bismark Boateng, Aaron Brown, Andre De Grasse, Brendon Rodney, Gavin Smellie