News09 Oct 2012

IAAF announces names of candidates for 2012 World Athlete of the Year Award


IAAF Centenary Logo (© IAAF)

MonacoThe IAAF is pleased to announce the names of the 10 men and 10 women who have been shortlisted for the 2012 World Athlete of the Year Award.

The 10 male and female candidates have been selected by an IAAF panel of athletics experts. An email poll involving the World Athletics Family began on Monday and will close on Sunday 28 October, midnight CET.

At the conclusion of the voting process, three male and three female finalists will be selected and announced by the IAAF.

The Council of the International Athletic Foundation will then select the male and female winners from the finalists with the announcement taking place during a special ceremony in Barcelona, during the 2012 Centenary Celebrations, on 24 November 2012.

The candidates are:
(in alphabetical order)
Yohan Blake (JAM)
Usain Bolt (JAM)
Ashton Eaton (USA)
Mohamed Farah (GBR)
Robert Harting (GER)
Kirani James (GRN)
Renaud Lavillenie (FRA)
Aries Merritt (USA)
David Rudisha (KEN)
Christian Taylor (USA)

Valerie Adams (NZL) 
Tirunesh Dibaba (ETH)
Jessica Ennis (GBR)
Allyson Felix (USA)
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM)
Yelena Lashmanova (RUS)
Sally Pearson (AUS)
Brittney Reese (USA)
Sanya Richards-Ross (USA)
Barbora Špotáková (CZE)

The email voters will be: IAAF & IAF Council Members; IAAF Member Federations; IAAF Committee & Commission Members; IAAF Meeting Directors; IAAF Ambassadors; Athletes’ Representatives; Top Athletes; Members of the International Press; IAAF Staff Members.