World Athletics Gala 2006 logo (IAF) © Copyright
General News

World Athlete of the Year – the final nominees

MonteCarloThe process to decide the 2006 World Athletes of the Year has completed its initial stage.

A public vote on the IAAF website and a separate poll of IAAF Athletics Family Members - respectively weighted 30% / 70% in the decision making process - to select a short list from the original 20 candidates closed at the end of last week.

The shortlist of 6 names (3 men and 3 women) will now be presented to a Special Jury of the International Athletic Foundation, who will make the final selection of Athletes of the Year and announce the winners, live on stage, at the 2006 World Athletics Gala in Monaco on 12 November.

The short list of nominees for 2006 World Athletes of the Year is as follows:

In alphabetical order

Virgilijus Alekna (LTU)
Asafa Powell (JAM)
Liu Xiang (CHN)

Meseret Defar (ETH)
Sanya Richards (USA)
Sherone Simpson (JAM)

Previous World Athletes of the Year

1988  Carl Lewis (USA) / Florence Griffith-Joyner (USA)
1989  Roger Kingdom (USA) / Ana Fidelia Quirot (CUB)
1990  Steve Backley (GBR) / Merlene Ottey (JAM)
1991  Carl Lewis (USA) / Katrin Krabbe (GER)
1992  Kevin Young (USA) / Heike Henkel (GER)
1993  Colin Jackson (GBR) / Sally Gunnell (GBR)
1994  Noureddine Morceli (ALG) / Jackie Joyner-Kersee
1995  Jonathan Edwards (GBR) / Gwen Torrence (USA)
1996  Michael Johnson (USA) / Svetlana Masterkova (RUS)
1997  Wilson Kipketer (DEN) / Marion Jones (USA)
1998  Haile Gebrselassie (ETH) / Marion Jones (USA)
1999  Michael Johnson (USA) / Gabriela Szabo (ROM)
2000  Jan Zelezny (CZE) / Marion Jones (USA)
2001  Hicham El Guerrouj (MAR) / Stacy Dragila (USA)
2002  Hicham El Guerrouj (MAR) / Paula Radcliffe (GBR)
2003  Hicham El Guerrouj (MAR) / Hestrie Cloete(RSA)
2004  Kenenisa Bekele (ETH) / Yelena Isinbayeva (RUS) 
2005  Kenenisa Bekele (ETH) / Yelena Isinbayeva (RUS)