IAAF Diamond League logo (c) © Copyright
News 16 June 2009 – Monte

IAAF Diamond League agrees a global calendar of 14 cities for 2010 - UPDATED

MonteCarloIt has been agreed that the IAAF Diamond League will be composed of 14 cities across the globe in America, Asia, Middle East and Europe.

Yesterday at a meeting of the General Assembly of IAAF Diamond League held in Berlin, Germany, the 2010 Calendar was confirmed.

As well as the 12 meetings which were confirmed in Monte-Carlo on 2 March when the new circuit of elite Athletics Meetings was originally announced, at the time there were 3 other cities, Berlin, Doha and Rome which had expressed an interest in becoming part of the IAAF Diamond League. Of this trio, the meetings in Doha and Rome fulfilled the necessary criteria of membership and were accepted into the IAAF Diamond League.

Work is on-going on a slightly altered distribution of events amongst the 14 meetings, and this schedule will be communicated at a later date.

IAAF Diamond League

2010 Calendar

Updates are underlined

Doha (QAT) – Fri 14 May
Shanghai (CHN) – Sun 23 May
Oslo (NOR) – Fri 4 June
Rome (ITA) – Thu 10 June
New York (USA) – Sat 12 June
Eugene (USA) – Sat 3 July
Lausanne (SUI) – Thu 8 July
Gateshead (GBR) – Sat 10 July
Paris (FRA) – Fri 16 July
Monaco (MON) – Thu 22 July
Stockholm (SWE) – Fri 6 Aug
London (GBR) – Fri 13 and Sat 14 Aug
Zürich (SUI) – Thu 19 Aug
Brussels (BEL) – Fri 27 Aug