Allyson Felix adds a national 400m title to her collection (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News

Team USA in Daegu to include 8 defending champs, 19 medallists

Eight reigning World champions will lead Team USA into the 2011 IAAF World Championships in Daegu. USA Track & Field on Wednesday announced its roster for the 13th edition of the Championships, which will be held 27  to 4 September.

On the roster are a total of 19 World Championships medallists and 16 Olympic medallists. At the most recent 2009 World Outdoor Championships in Berlin, Germany, Team USA won a total of 22 medals, well ahead of second place Jamaica (13). Of the 22 medals, 10 of them were gold for Team USA, which was also ahead of second-place Jamaica (7).

A total of 66 men and 63 women find their names on this year’s team.

The list of Team USA’s reigning World Champions includes Allyson Felix, who will attempt a difficult double at this year’s World Championships in the 200m and 400m. Felix, the three-time World Championships gold medalist in the 200m, won the 400m at the 2011 USA Outdoor Championships to become the first female ever to win national titles in the 100m, 200m and 400m in a career.

The American record holder in the 400m, Sanya Richards-Ross will defend her world title in the one-lap race. In the midst of an already brilliant track and field career, Richards-Ross has won a total of five Olympic and World Championships gold medals in the 400m and the 4x400m and is coming off a season-best time of 49.66 in winning last weekend in London.

Also looking good of late is defending world champion Christian Cantwell in the shot put. Cantwell returned nicely from shoulder surgery earlier in the year and currently holds the fourth-best throw in the world in 2011 and posted wins in the Diamond League this season in Stockholm and Lausanne.

Team USA will be eying as many as three medals in the decathlon, with a lineup that includes defending World champion Trey Hardee, 2011 world leader Ashton Eaton, and 2004 Olympic gold medalist and ’05 world champ Bryan Clay.

Other team members looking to defend their world titles include world indoor and outdoor champion Britney Reese, who is again leading the world in the women’s long jump this year, Kerron Clement in the men’s 400m hurdles, three-time world champion Dwight Phillips in the men's long jump and LaShawn Merritt in the 400m, who ran an impressive 44.74 July 29 in Stockholm in his first race in almost two years.

Those on Team USA who are the current world leaders in their events include American record holder David Oliver (M110m hurdles, 12.94), Jesse Williams (MHJ, 2.37m), Eaton (MD, 8729), Carmelita Jeter (W100m, 10.70), Shalonda Solomon (W200m, 22.15), Jenn Suhr (WPV, 4.91m) and Reese (WLJ, 7.19m).

Named to Team USA’s relay pools for the men’s 4x100m were Walter Dix, Justin Gatlin, Michael Rodgers, Trell Kimmons, Ivory Williams and Travis Padgett and for the women’s 4x100m were Carmelita Jeter, Marshavet Myers, Miki Barber, LaShaunte’a Moore, Alexandria Anderson and Bianca Knight. Those named to the pool for the men’s 4x400m were Merritt, Tony McQuay, Greg Nixon, Jamaal Torrence, Michael Berry and Miles Smith and for the women’s 4x400m were Richards-Ross, Felix, Francena McCorory, Debbie Dunn, Jessica Beard and Natasha Hastings. Athletes already on the Team USA roster in other events also are eligible to compete in the relays.

Head coaches for Team USA at the 2011 World Championships are Connie Price-Smith for the women and Vin Lananna for the men. Head managers are Diane Wholey for the women and Ken Brauman for the men.

USA Track & Field for the IAAF

2011 World Outdoor Championships Team USA

*denotes 2009 World Champion

Men’s 100m: Walter Dix, Justin Gatlin, Michael Rodgers

Men’s 200m: Dix, Darvis Patton, Jeremy Dodson

Men’s 400m: Tony McQuay, Greg Nixon, Jamaal Torrance, LaShawn Merritt*

Men’s 800m: Nicholas Symmonds, Khadevis Robinson, Charles Jock

Men’s 1500m: Matthew Centrowitz, Leonel Manzano, Andrew Wheating

Men’s 3000m SC: William Nelson, Daniel Huling, Benjamin Bruce

Men’s 5000m: Bernard Lagat, Chris Solinsky, Galen Rupp

Men’s 10,000m: Rupp, Matt Tegenkamp, Scott Bauhs

Men’s 20km RW: Trevor Barron

Men’s marathon: Nicholas Arciniaga, Michael Morgan, Sergio Reyes, Jeffrey Eggleston, Mike Sayenko

Men’s 110mH: David Oliver, Aries Merritt, Jason Richardson

Men’s 400mH: Jeshua Anderson, Bershawn Jackson, Angelo Taylor, Kerron Clement*

Men’s HJ: Jesse Williams, Dustin Jonas, Erik Kynard

Men’s PV: Derek Miles, Jeremy Scott, Mark Hollis

Men’s LJ: Marquise Goodwin, Claye, Trevell Quinley, Dwight Phillips*

Men’s TJ: Christian Taylor, William Claye, Walter Davis

Men’s SP: Adam Nelson, Christian Cantwell*, Reese Hoffa, Ryan Whiting

Men’s DT: Jarred Rome, Jason Young, Lance Brooks

Men’s HT: Kibwe Johnson, Michael Mai

Men’s JT: Mike Hazle

Men’s Dec: Ashton Eaton, Ryan Harlan, Bryan Clay, Trey Hardee*

Men’s 4x100m: Dix, Gatlin, Rodgers, Kimmons, Ivory Williams, Travis Padgett

Men’s 4x400m: Merritt, McQuay, Nixon, Torrence, Michael Berry, Miles Smith

Women’s 100m: Carmelita Jeter, Marshavet Myers, Miki Barber

Women’s 200m: Shalonda Solomon, Jeter, Jeneba Tarmoh, Allyson Felix*

Women’s 400m: Felix, Francena McCorory, Debbie Dunn, Sanya Richards-Ross*

Women’s 800m: Alysia Montano, Maggie Vessey, Alice Schmidt

Women’s 1500m: Morgan Uceny, Jennifer Simpson, Shannon Rowbury

Women’s 3000m SC: Emma Coburn, Bridget Franek, Delilah DiCrescenzo

Women’s 5000m: Molly Huddle, Amy Hastings, Lauren Fleshman

Women’s 10000m: Shalane Flanagan, Kara Goucher, Jennifer Rhines

Women’s 20km RW: Maria Michta

Women’s Marathon: Katherine Newberry, Alissa McKaig, Colleen DeRuck, Tera Moody, Zoila Gomez

Women’s 100mH: Kellie Wells, Danielle Carruthers, Dawn Harper

Women’s 400mH: Lashinda Demus, Queen Harrison, Jasmine Chaney

Women’s HJ: Brigetta Barrett, Inika McPherson

Women’s PV: Kylie Hutson, Jenn Suhr, Lacy Janson

Women’s LJ: Brittney Reese*, Janay DeLoach, Funmi Jimoh, Tori Polk

Women’s TJ: Amanda Smock

Women’s SP: Michelle Carter, Jillian Camarena-Williams, Sarah Stevens-Walker

Women’s DT: Stephanie Brown-Trafton, Aretha Thurmond, Gia Lewis-Smallwood

Women’s HT: Jessica Cosby, Amber Campbell, Jeneva McCall

Women’s JT: Kara Patterson, Rachel Yurkovich

Women’s Hep: Sharon Day, Hyleas Fountain

Women’s 4x100m: Jeter, Myers, Barber, LaShaunte’a Moore, Alexandria Anderson, Bianca Knight

Women’s 4x400m: Richards-Ross, Felix, McCorory, Dunn, Beard, Natasha Hastings