Derek Drouin in the high jump final at the IAAF World Championships Beijing 2015 (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News

Defending champions Drouin and Barber lead Canadian team for IAAF World Championships London 2017

Athletics Canada has named a team of 48 athletes to compete at the IAAF World Championships London 2017 on 4-13 August.

“Our team features a great combination of seasoned world-class performers and talented upcoming athletes who are ready to make their mark,” said head coach Glenroy Gilbert. “Canadian success at recent Olympics, Paralympics and World Championships has been noticed and respected around the world. We look to capitalise on that positive momentum and perform at a high level in London.”

The team includes nine World Championships medallists, including two defending world champions. At the 2015 World Championships, Canada won two world titles and eight medals overall.

Athletics Canada for the IAAF

Canadian team for IAAF World Championships London 2017

100m: Andre De Grasse, Gavin Smellie
200m: Aaron Brown, Andre De Grasse
800m: Brandon McBride
5000m: Mohammed Ahmed, Justyn Knight
10,000m: Mohammed Ahmed
Marathon: Eric Gillis, Thomas Toth
3000m steeplechase: Matthew Hughes
110m hurdles: Johnathan Cabral
High jump: Derek Drouin, Michael Mason
Pole vault: Shawnacy Barber
Shot put: Tim Nedow
20km race walk: Ben Thorne
50km race walk: Mathieu Bilodeau, Evan Dunfee
Decathlon: Damian Warner
4x100m: Bolade Ajomale, Aaron Brown, Andre De Grasse, Akeem Haynes, Brendon Rodney, Gavin Smellie

100m: Crystal Emmanuel
200m: Crystal Emmanuel
400m: Travia Jones, Carline Muir, Aiyanna Stiverne
800m: Melissa Bishop
1500m: Sheila Reid, Nicole Sifuentes, Gabriela Stafford
5000m: Jessica O’Connell, Andrea Seccafien
10,000m: Rachel Cliff, Lanni Marchant, Natasha Wodak
Marathon: Rachel Hannah, Tarah Korir, Dayna Pidhoresky
3000m steeplechase: Geneviève Lalonde
100m hurdles: Phylicia George
400m hurdles: Noelle Montcalm, Sage Watson
Pole vault: Alysha Newman, Anicka Newell
Long jump: Christabel Nettey
Shot put: Brittany Crew
Hammer: Jillian Weir
Javelin: Liz Gleadle
4x400m: Travia Jones, Natassha McDonald, Noelle Montcalm, Carline Muir, Aiyanna Stiverne, Sage Watson