Wayde van Niekerk wins the 400m at the IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015 (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News

Van Niekerk leads South African team for IAAF World Championships London 2017

A team of 24 athletes has been announced by Athletics South Africa for the IAAF World Championships London 2017 on 4-13 August.

The team, which consists of 18 men and six women, includes all four of South Africa’s medallists from last year’s Olympic Games.

World and Olympic champion Wayde van Niekerk will double in the 200m and 400m, while Olympic 800m champion Caster Semenya, African long jump record-holder Luvo Manyonga and Olympic javelin silver medallist Sunette Viljoen have been named in their respective events.

“We believe this is one of our strongest teams ever selected for the IAAF World Championships, and we are confident they will return home with a bag full of medals,” said ASA president Aleck Skhosana.

ASA for the IAAF

South African team for IAAF World Championships London 2017

100m: Thando Roto, Akani Simbine
200m: Clarence Munyai, Akani Simbine, Wayde van Niekerk
400m: Pieter Conradie, Wayde van Niekerk
10,000m: Stephen Mokoka
Marathon: Lusapho April, Desmond Mokgobu, Sibusiso Nzima
110m hurdles: Antonio Alkana
Long jump: Luvo Manyonga, Ruswahl Samaai, Zarck Visser
Shot put: Orazio Cremona, Jaco Engelbrecht
Discus: Victor Hogan
Javelin: Rocco van Rooyen
20km race walk: Lebogang Shange

100m: Carina Horn
800m: Caster Semenya
Marathon: Jenna Challenor, Mapaseka Makhanya
400m hurdles: Wenda Nel
Javelin: Sunette Viljoen