News30 Jan 2015

10 more stars set for Boston Indoor Permit meeting


Ryan Whiting in action at the 2014 US Indoor Championships (© Kirby Lee)

Ten more global medallists have been added to the array of big names competing at the New Balance Indoor Grand Prix, an IAAF Indoor Permit meeting, in Boston on 7 February.

Among the latest star additions are US shot putters Ryan Whiting and Christian Cantwell, winners of five of the past six world indoor titles.

Also announced was Jamaica’s Asafa Powell, the former 100m world record-holder.

The meeting is celebrating its 20th edition in 2015 and will be staged at the Reggie Lewis Track and Athletic Center at the Roxbury Community College.

The New Balance Indoor Grand Prix has played host to seven world records and 11 US records in its first 19 years. It is the third stop on the 2015 IAAF Indoor Permit meeting series.

Among the names already announced are Olympic pole vault champion Jenn Suhr, two-time Olympic medallist Bernard Lagat, 18-year-old phenomenon Mary Cain, and 2011 world 1500m champion Jenny Simpson.

The other names announced on Friday are 2008 Olympic 1500m silver medallist Nick Willis, 2012 world indoor 1500m champion Abdalaati Iguider, 2012 world indoor high jump champion Chaunte Lowe, 2005 world long jump champion Tianna Bartoletta, Olympic 10,000m silver medallist Sally Kipyego, Olympic relay silver medallist Ryan Bailey, and Olympic 5000m silver medallist Dejen Gebremeskel.

Boston fans will remember Gebremeskel beating Great Britain’s Mo Farah, in 2011 in just one shoe, after losing the other shoe early in the race.

Organisers for the IAAF