News16 Apr 2013

Ennis, Farah and Rutherford among British line-up for London - IAAF Diamond League


Mo Farah wins the 3000m at the London Diamond League (© Mark Shearman)

The British line-up has been revealed for the Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games, part of the IAAF Diamond League, in London on July 26-27 which will see memorable moments like ‘Super Saturday’ from London 2012 relived a year on from the Olympic opening ceremony.

All five British Olympic medallists have, so far, been confirmed to compete this summer at the Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games.

Olympic Heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis will double up in both the 100m Hurdles and Long Jump, before being joined in Saturday afternoon’s event programme by double Olympic champion Mo Farah, who will run in the 3000m, and Olympic Long Jump champion Greg Rutherford.

“I am really looking forward to competing in the London Anniversary Games,” said Ennis, who will be making her first appearance at the London Diamond League meeting. “I have amazing memories of competing in the Olympic Stadium last year and it will be good to step out on that track again in front of a British crowd. I will never forget the noise the crowd made when I competed last August and know that the draw of the stadium and the great line up of athletes will fill the stands and make it another incredible occasion.

“I am training hard and am getting excited about the prospect of getting out there and competing again this summer.”

Other top British athletes set to compete in London are World 400m Hurdles champion Dai Greene, European indoor Pole Vault champion Holly Bleasdale, World 110m Hurdles bronze medallist Andy Turner, European High Jump champion Robbie Grabarz and Olympic silver medallist Christine Ohuruogu.

Organisers for the IAAF

British line-up:

800m: Andrew Osagie, Mukhtar Mohammed
3000m: Mo Farah, Chris Thompson
110m Hurdles: Lawrence Clarke, Andy Turner
400m Hurdles: Dai Greene
Long Jump: Greg Rutherford, Chris Tomlinson
High Jump: Robbie Grabarz
Pole Vault: Steve Lewis

400m: Christine Ohuruogu
800m: Jenny Meadows
100m Hurdles: Jessica Ennis
400m Hurdles: Perri Shakes-Drayton
Long Jump: Shara Proctor, Katrina Johnson-Thompson, Jessica Ennis
Pole Vault: Holly Bleasdale

2013 IAAF Diamond League Calendar
Doha, QAT – 10 May
Shanghai, CHN – 18 May
New York, USA – 25 May
Eugene, USA – 1 Jun
Rome, ITA – 6 Jun
Oslo, NOR – 13 Jun
Birmingham, GBR – 30 Jun
Lausanne, SUI – 4 Jul
Paris, FRA – 6 Jul
Monaco, MON – 19 Jul
London, GBR – 26-27 Jul
Stockholm, SWE – 22 Aug
Zürich, SUI – 29 Aug
Brussels, BEL – 6 Sep